Skip to content

Of Podcasts and Knitters

January 13, 2014

While prowling through Ravelry I see, on occasion, people asking about what (if any) podcasts they listen to. Now these questions are not directed at me, but I though it might be nice to share the main two I know of.

Cast On- For those of you not in the “know” this is a delightful podcast produced by the always awesome Brenda Dayne. She is a US transplant living in Wales and her show runs the gamut from interviews with textile mills, to Today’s Sweater. Unfortunately there has not been any new episodes in a while, but her archives are chock full of a wonderful variety of episodes and pretty good music as well. Her shows tend to clock in right around the hour mark and as such provide great entertainment for driving or knitting. The show is incredibly well done and while I have run through the archives a few times now, there is always something more I learn on the next go around.

Stitch Addiction- This is a relative newcomer to the land of video casting, but she has been producing shows at a steady pace. The caster lives in the Midwest and she discusses a variety of topics, from personal favorites for the week to showing off her latest cross stitching projects. The episodes are a usually around the 1/2 mark and make for some excellent visual entertainment. Her cats are adorable and her knits are just fabulous (her son’s Christmas present was one of the cutest things I have seen in a long time.) Seriously go check her out!

Obviously I know there are a great many more podcasts out there, but finding them can be a bit tricky. So do us a favor, if there are any podcasts you just love and feel need to be heard, let me know in the comments. I am always on the look out for more.

From → Fiber Arts

3 Comments
  1. I have what feels like a large number of knitting podcasts I subscribe to but for every one, they’ll mention another that I don’t listen to. I could basically listen to them all day every day and still probably not be caught up!

    Some of my favourite knitting podcasts are:
    Stockinette Zombies
    The Knitmore Girls
    The Knitting Den
    Happy Spider Knits
    Yarn Raising
    Whatcha Swatchin
    High Fiber Diet
    The Yarniacs
    90% Knitting
    Joeli’s Kitchen

  2. caityrosey permalink

    I enjoy Stockinette Zombies.

  3. shellssells permalink

    I, too, enjoy Cast On, and I was recently discussing “start as you mean to go on” with a friend of mine. In reference to the new year, of course.

    This is not a knitting podcast, but one I often listen to while knitting. The Tobolowsky Files. He’s a fantastic story teller. And he’s so conversational while telling his stories.

    https://itunes.apple.com/podcast/the-tobolowsky-files/id339001481

    (As a note, I am not sure why they are all labeled explicit, as I let my 9 yr old listen with me. Maybe it is just easier?)

Care to share? Let me know what you think in the comments section.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 358 other followers

