Skip to content

FFN: Baby gifts continued

February 9, 2014

I ended up having to miss the baby shower this past weekend because (my luck is such that) I ended up getting shingles (again.) So cue me stuck at home, hiding out on the couch as I attempt to distract myself from all that is this mess. I did however finish the baby gifts and thanks to the wonderfulness that is the giant, they were sent out Saturday afternoon and should be winging their way to the mom-to-be as we speak.

If you recall from previous posts I ended up with an adorable little sweater knit out of the (sadly) discontinued Knit Picks Felici sport, in the color way sunny day. I had about three skeins of the yarn remaining and one went to the sweater, and another one ended up going to matching (in color at least) hat and booties. I ended up using a new-to-me pattern for the hat, the Norwegian Sweet Baby Cap with mods by the user sammlyn. I think it turned out pretty good, I ended up tweaking the top just a bit with the decreases.

20140207_121608

For the booties I ended up using the old standby of Saarjte’s Bootee pattern. I made the smaller size and omitted one of the straps, and after a little bit of a trial and error because I am apparently unable to read my left from right, I made the straps opposing. They required me to dip into the beginning of the third ball of yarn because I needed the blue to match, but otherwise the hat and booties would have taken a little less than one full skein.

20140208_141709

Not too bad considering the time needed for the entire gift, and the end results. I am just hoping the tiny human and her mom enjoy the gift.

20140208_141757

2 Comments
  1. Just. Absolutely. Adorable. :)
    (Get well soon!)

  2. Q – Adorable! Lucky recipient. Hope you get over the shingles quickly! Poor thing.

Care to share? Let me know what you think in the comments section.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 346 other followers

