Skip to content

What matters

June 9, 2014

I know that I promised to share a photo with you of the shawl that I finished over a week ago (yikes.) Sorry about that, but in my little bit of defense we have had a slew of cloudy days with some nasty weather sprinkled in between. All this meant I was attempting to figure out a good time to get some photos, which never really happened, so Sunday I decided to bite the bullet and attempted a photo.

photo 1 (4)

This isn’t the greatest, but here you go. You may notice that the ruffles remained, which I think looks pretty good. The shawl itself is a little small to be much protection, but it is a nice accessory piece that should provide warmth in a chilly air-conditioned office and act as nice scarf for Autumn and Winter.

It was interesting to me to knit with my hand spun, this yarn was definitely a bit on the over twisted side, and not nearly as soft of a wool as I am used to. A friend of mine has this wonderful habit of saying that ( and I am paraphrasing a bit) hand spun yarn isn’t meant to be look commercially made, the whole point is for it to have the uniqueness of being hand created. Which really helps bring it back into perspective, especially when your recently spun yarn looks a bit like something a cat may have hacked up on the carpet in the middle of the night, but maybe that is just me.

So while the shawl may not be the softest thing ever, it may have points where the thick and thin of the yarn produced a bit of a wonky fabric, hey might even be a little too small for some, I just try to remember that it was something I created on two different levels. Not only did I knit each and every stitch, but I also spun each and every yard, that shawl has a lot more of my time invested in it, and therefore it is a lot more special to me. And at the end of the day that’s what matters.

From → Knitting

One Comment
  1. I love the little “imperfections” of handspun that remind you how special it is. You put so much into it and that’s part of what makes it awesome! The shawl is lovely :)

Care to share? Let me know what you think in the comments section.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 352 other followers

