Skip to content

Dropped

June 13, 2014

The spinning continues here at the home of the Introverted Knitter, there seems to be something in the air,(Or more likely I can blame the lovely knit night crowd) which is fine by me. Last week at my knitting group I was able to test out a drop spindle under some very helpful guidance. The fiber was some so called “crap fiber” from a friend, actually the stuff I used to practice with my new(er) wheel. Anyway the spindle was not mine, but it was lovely. Sadly no photos of the endeavor, but it did inspire me to pick up the drop spindle I had bought last year at the Iowa Sheep and Wool Festival. The spindle is just a basic beginner one, which works out perfect because that is pretty much what I am when it comes to this.

I did manage to spin a little bit, although consistency still eludes my grasp. Fortunately I have had a little less trouble with the dropping of the thing, which is exciting.

photo 5 (1)

The fiber is the last Hanks of the Hood batt I picked up from the Knit Picks cyber sale last year. And like the other two I am struggling to come to terms with the fact that the darn stuff won’t be smooth and consistent and nice like I want. Plus this one might have a little silk in it which is throwing me through a hula-hoop size loop. I have come to realize my fiber stash is growing a bit thin in terms of content, which also works out perfectly as the Giant and I will be heading out to the Iowa Sheep and Wool Festival this coming weekend. (If you haven’t been and are in the area, definitely a fun festival to try out.)

The spindle proved just as interesting to one of the stash guardians in my home.

photo 2 (5)

 

The photos were snapped a bit before I headed to knit night this week. I noticed that after watching a couple of ladies and getting to dabble a little on one of their lovely spindles that better fiber and better tool might be in order…funny how that seems to work out, huh? Lucky for me I might have that chance.

So how is your knitting/spinning going?

 

 

From → Spinning

2 Comments
  1. I love silk blends, but when they aren’t really well blended they can be very challenging! I was recently working on a batt like that, and I was loving the texture, but had a tendency towards being over-controlling :P It turned out nicely though! You just kinda have to let it be what it wants.

    • Thanks for the tip, I definitely think the combo of trying a new method of spinning combined with the possible silk will be a great challenge.

Care to share? Let me know what you think in the comments section.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 344 other followers

