Skip to content

FFN: Pairfect

May 15, 2018

I am always reminded of the simple fact that you can actually get quite a bit of knitting done, when you actually take the time to knit. Funny how that works, huh? Case in point. I had a pair of socks on the go (there may or may not be multiple socks on the go, but for this small moment let us forget that fact and concentrate on the success story, okay?) They are destined as a gift and while the first sock flew off the needles, the second languished for a good month or two (not long in the grand scheme of things, but that first sock was done in about a day or two.)

The reason it was on hold for so long, (aside from my procrastination and being prone to distraction) was that I knew I had to frog the second sock. It wasn’t really much of a sock at that point, a cuff with just the mere hint of a leg started, I have ripped far bigger projects before. I hesitated and waited and put it off, until last Thursday when I decided to suck it up and get back to work, I bit the bullet and frogged the project. Which promptly resulted in a tangled knotted mess, because of course it would right? Attempts to untangle were not successful at this time.

Knowing enough about myself I took a breather and waited a few days  before trying again. This time victory was mine and the yarn once again was mine to use as I would. Which meant the sock was ready to go. So I cast that bad boy back on and set to work. I burned through quite a few podcasts (and the last of some of my miscellaneous shows) but wouldn’t you know it. Actually knitting on the project produced a finished object.

20180515_061807

Socks were knit on 2.25 mm (US 1) knitting needles
Yarn is Regia Pairfect 3 in Adria
Pattern is my own basic cuff down sock with a fish lips kiss heel, made for a size US men’s 13+

The yarn itself comes in one skein with a bright yellow stripe to show you where to cast on along the yarn to achieve a perfect pair (clever name and all.) The striping otherwise occurs as seen in the sock, the tan for the toes could have been longer, should one desire, however customization beyond that is less possible. In other words I couldn’t make the cuff longer than the predetermined length (unless I wanted the stripes/heel) to be different. Despite that small “complaint” (not even a complaint to be clear) I am a big fan of this yarn and I look forward to see how these socks hold up.

The Giant has already said that he will claim them if the recipient doesn’t end up wanting them, so I know they will be put to good use.

 

3 Comments
  1. I have had that same issue with frogging. put in down for 24 hours and went back. it flew the second time.

  2. I have seen a few pairs made with this yarn type (different colors) and it is mind boggling to me, but they are all perfect! Yours, however, have the best colors. I love them! Wish I had size 13 feet (not really) so I could pretend you were about to send them to me. 🙂

  3. Very pretty socks!

Care to share? Let me know what you think in the comments section.