Skip to content

Early Mother’s Day Gift

May 1, 2013

I had a chance to see my mother this past weekend, and since distance can be a problem I ended up bringing along my Mother’s Day Gifts. The first was the woven scarf I had made way back, in the groovy colorway. My mother and I are different when it comes to color preferences. She prefers bright and loud colors, whereas I am more apt to choose neutral or subdued colors. She loved it, which is always nice to know, because when it came to colors I am almost always feeling like they are too bright and flashy.

The other gift I managed to make was actually a pattern I designed myself last week (don’t look at me like that, I didn’t think I had to have it done until a bit later.) It was born out of the desire to work with some lace and while I was still in my headband kick.

I had an idea for the design I wanted, and I knew I wanted something with beads, so I scanned my stitch dictionaries and set to work.

20130426_135131This is it pre-blocked. I always love the transformation of lace. I ended up using the stitch pattern “openwork on angle 2” as seen in the book, 400 Knitting Stitches 

A little bit closer

A little bit closer

The post-blocked result was awesome, and I was pleased with how it turned out.

As seen here, while blocking

As seen here, while blocking

It is a light and airy little thing, but the beads add a little weight to it, to remind you it’s on your head (and warn you should it slip off. The beads were placed every 3rd and 7th row in the pattern. It was a pretty basic design but I am proud of how well it turned out.

Yarn: Knit Picks Shadow Lace in the Nocturne Heather colorway

I hardly used any yardage to be honest, I forgot to measure (bad blogger, I know)

Not bad for a design from my head, if I do say so myself.

4 Comments
  1. This a wonderful idea for a gift, and the beadwork is beautiful!

  2. What a beautiful piece! Love the beads 🙂

  3. This will be first Mothers day without her. She passed in Sept. But I will see my daughter and her kids. That’s the way this cycle works I spoze.

  4. shellssells permalink

    Yep, that headband is very lovely! I liked the ones from yesterday too, but this one is very elegant.

Care to share? Let me know what you think in the comments section.